"> Church « Wembdon Village
Wembdon Village Website
 

Church

There was a church at Wembdon by the late 12th century. In 1284 William Testard, Lord of Wembdon Manor granted permission for St. Georges Church.  Originally comprising of a north and south aisle, chancel and nave with four bays, the west tower was added during the 14th century.  In the 15th century a rood screen, a loft, font and stair tower were added.  By the 17th century the nave was decorated with murals.
The church was badly damaged by a fire which destroyed the nave roof in March 1868.  Sadly the certificate for fire insurance had expired but the church was rebuilt thanks to significant local aid.
St. Georges Church is a lively Anglican church.  All are welcome to any of their services – whether you are a committed Christian, new in the faith or ‘just looking’.
They meet at 10.30am and 6.30pm every Sunday as well as midweek in smaller groups. For more information about the services and the church community click here.

 

Previous Minutes

Latest News