The revised waste and recycling collection dates for the Christmas period are as follows:

Normal day Revised day Normal day Revised day
Thu 24th Dec No change
Fri 25th Dec Mon 28th Dec
Mon 28th Dec Tue 29th Dec Mon 4th Jan Tue 5th Jan
Tue 29th Dec Wed 30th Dec Tue 5th Jan Wed 6th Jan
Wed 30th Dec Thu 31st Dec Wed 6th Jan Thu 7th Jan
Thu 31st Dec Sat 2nd Jan Thu 7th Jan Fri 8th Jan
Fri 1st Jan Mon 4th Jan Fri 8th Jan Sat 9th Jan
Then normal collections resume

There are no garden waste collections Friday 25th December – Friday 8th January (inclusive). Garden waste pick-ups restart from Monday 11th January.

Somerset Waste Partnership have also published the following information on a low-waste Christmas:

Say yes to a low-cardboard Christmas

'Tis the season to waste not and shop smarterWith the festive season here, do what you can to keep waste to a minimum.

Food: Holiday meal planning will make sure you cut food waste by buying only what you need and eating all you buy.

Decorations: Winter foliage, paper and card are the perfect substitutes for plastic, as is a real tree unless your artificial one lasts for many years.

Gifts: Keep a lid on the cardboard by thinking outside the box when shopping online – vouchers, digital subscriptions and memberships make great gifts and no packaging. Shop local, ask for wish lists, invest in presents of real quality that last – or give a free but priceless gift of time, with promises to help with all that 2021 will bring, from decluttering to gardening.

Wrap: Use paper wrapping. Glitter, plastic or metallic wrapping cannot be recycled so will need to go straight into the rubbish. Reuse wrapping if you can, or put it in the correct kerbside recycling box. Got lots? Take it all to one of our 16 recycling sites. Each will have a special drop-off point just for wrapping paper.

Tree: Compost your real Christmas tree at home or add it to your garden’s wildlife corner. If you subscribe to the garden waste service, leave the tree next to your green bin for collection. Not a subscriber? Decoration-free trees must be taken to a recycling site; they will not be collected from the kerbside.

Recycling sites: These are on winter hours, except all close as usual on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day. They are a good way to dispose of large loads, especially if weather delays collections. Be sure to socially distance and follow all other safety guidance. Empty cardboard boxes of plastic and other packaging, then flatten them before you come.

North winds: In severe weather, check the website and @somersetwaste on social media.